Board of Trustees, 2023-24

Officers of the Board

Christopher L. Eisgruber '83, President of the University

Louise S. Sams '79, Chair of the Board

Philip U. Hammarskjold '87, Vice Chair of the Board

Lori D. Fouché '91, Clerk of the Board

Hilary A. Parker ’01, Secretary of the University

Ex Officio

Christopher L. Eisgruber '83
President of the University
Philip Murphy
Governor of New Jersey


Kamil Ali-Jackson '81 (2027)
Independent director and life sciences entrepreneur and co-founder
West Chester, PA
José B. Alvarez '85 (2030)*
Clinical Professor of Business Administration, Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth
East Corinth, VT
Jackson A. Artis '20 (2024)
Associate Professional Staff I, JHUAPL
Rockville, MD
Joshua B. Bolten '76 (2027)
Chief Executive Officer, Business Roundtable
Chevy Chase, MD
Pete Briger '86 (2024)
Co-Chief Executive Officer, Fortress Investment Group
Atherton, CA
Beth F. Cobert '80 (2030)*
Acting President, Markle Foundation
Denver, CO
Marisa J. Demeo '88 (2025)
Associate Judge, Superior Court of the District of Columbia
Washington, D.C.
Janeria A. Easley *16 (2024)
Assistant Professor, Emory University
Lilburn, GA
Blair W. Effron '84 (2029)*
Co-Founder and Partner, Centerview Partners, Investment Banking
New York, NY
Henri R. Ford '80 (2024)
Dean & Chief Academic Officer, University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine
Miami, FL
Lori D. Fouché '91 (2029)*
Managing Partner, LAD Ventures LLC
Montclair, NJ
Heather K. Gerken '91 (2027)
Dean and Sol & Lillian Goldman Professor of Law, Yale Law School
New Haven, CT
Philip U. Hammarskjold '87 (2024)
Executive Chairman, Hellman & Friedman LLC
North Palm Beach, FL
Naomi I. Hess '22 (2026)
Management and Program Analyst, Administration for Community Living
Washington, DC
Robert J. Hugin '76 (2029)*
Retired Chairman and CEO, Celgene Corporation
Summit, NJ
Yan Huo *94 (2026)
Managing Partner & Chief Investment Officer, Capula Investment Management LLP
London, UK
Kimberly H. Johnson '95 (2031)*
Chief Operating Officer, T. Rowe Price
McLean, VA
Kathy F. Kiely '77 (2025)
Lee Hills Chair in Free Press Studies, Missouri School of Journalism
Columbia, MO
Timothy M. Kingston '87 (2025)
Chairman, Goldman Sachs Latin America Investment Banking
New York, NY
Anthony H.P. Lee '79 (2027)
Director, Aberon Pty Ltd.
Bellevue Hill, Australia
Nandi O. Leslie *05 (2027)
Principal Technical Fellow, RTX
Bethesda, MD
Paul A. Maeder '75 (2028)*
Chair and Founder, Highland Capital Partners
Cambridge, MA
Mutemwa R. Masheke '23 (2027)
Product Manager, Microsoft
Seattle, WA
Elizabeth Prus Myers '92 (2025)
Global Chairman, Investment Banking, J.P. Morgan
New York, NY
Carol Quillen *91 (2026)
Professor and President Emerita, Davidson College
Davidson, NC
Gordon P. Ritter '86 (2027)
Founder and General Partner, Emergence Capital
San Francisco, CA
Kathryn Roth-Douquet *91 (2025)
CEO, Blue Star Families
McLean, VA
Louise S. Sams '79 (2027)
Retired Executive VP & General Counsel, Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.
Atlanta, GA
Bradford L. Smith '81 (2027)
Vice Chair and President, Microsoft Corporation
Bellevue, WA
Morgan A. Smith '21 (2025)
Child Representative Coordinator, Chicago Volunteer Legal Services
Chicago, IL
Sarah E. Stein '97 (2028)*
Managing Partner, Hall Capital Partners LLC
San Francisco, CA
Yolandra Gomez Toya '88 (2026)
Pediatrician, After Hours Pediatrics
Bernalillo, NM
Carla B. Vernón '92 (2024)
Chief Executive Officer, The Honest Company
Edina, MN
Melissa H. Wu '99 (2024)
Chief Executive Officer, Education Pioneers
Melrose, MA
Jackie Y. Ying *91 (2026)

* Charter Trustees who joined the board after July 1, 2020 are elected to serve for a term of six years with eligibility for re-election to an additional, contiguous two-year term